Review: CK Hair Shadow

Hello everyone! Sorry, it was a busy weekend so I didn’t post much, but I’m making it up to you with a super amazing review on this hair “chalk” I tried out. If you like to create funky ‘dos when you go out or just in general, this may just be something for you :)

CK Hair Shadow
Color: Pretty Purple
http://www.chopperskisses.com
Bought on Hautelook

20140415-133048.jpg
When I saw this hair “chalk” online, I loved the vibrant color and the idea of having something fun that I could put in my hair to easily change it up for going out, etc. Plus, it was a good price ($10.50 on Hautelook.com vs. original price of $15).
Now, I put quotes around “chalk” because when I first opened the product, it looked more like a solid wax. As I put it in, I noticed that it was very shimmery… Which I liked :) I also enjoyed the coconut scent. To the touch, it did feel waxy which is kind of a negative for me. Speaking of touch, this stuff will get all over your hands! Since I didn’t get it from the actual brand’s site, it didn’t come with any instructions. After I put it on my hair, I looked it up online (should have done this prior). Under the description, it states to wear gloves during application to avoid staining your skin. Whoops.
This is before & after washing my hands just a few minutes after application.

20140415-133158.jpg
20140415-133216.jpg
Here is how the CK Hair Shadow looks in my hair.

20140415-133801.jpg
20140415-133823.jpg
20140415-133850.jpg
20140415-133903.jpg
20140415-133918.jpg20140415-133937.jpg
20140415-133951.jpg
Even though I have very dark brown hair, the color still showed up pretty vibrant and nice. The website recommended that those with bleached or porous hair take caution due to the fact that it will take longer to wash out.

After washing out product:
I shampooed my hair as I normally do, and after some towel-drying, I noticed a tiny bit if color and sparkle left in my hair. It would probably be more noticeable if I had lighter hair. I doubt anyone else could even tell. On the site, it says that this product leaves your hair soft and silky after using it. Nope. Btw, my fingers were still slightly tinted pink the next day.

Tips for using this product –
Wear gloves when applying! O.O
After applying, I would wear your hair in a way that you won’t be touching it constantly and it won’t be rubbing on your clothes. (wearing white is probably a no-go)
Wear a robe or put a towel around your shoulders when applying because the product tends to drop tiny bits that can get on your clothes.

Overall assessment:
Pros –
Pleasant coconut scent
Vibrant & shimmering color
Made with macadamia nut oil
Easy application
Comes in many colors
Decent price
Staying Power

Cons –
Somewhat messy application, can stain your skin/clothes/sink
Waxy feel, dries a bit hard
Not very touch-friendly after drying, but not as bad as when first applying
May not wash out completely after showering the first time

Overall, I felt like this product is good for using every once and a while and does the trick. I don’t have any other product like it to compare it to, so you’ll have to be the judge :) Hope this was helpful!

Other colors:
Make Me a Mermaid Green
Feeling Royal Blue
Light Blue
Cotton Candy Pink
Pixie Dust Purple
Shop Teal We Drop!
So Hot! Pink
So Silver

4 thoughts on “Review: CK Hair Shadow”

  1. Great review!! I’m very conservative with my hair so I wouldn’t have looked twice at this product, but it looks so lovely on you, that I might give it a try! :D Thank you! <3
    thesartorialcoquette.com

    Like

  2. Great review – I’ve also used hair chalk in my hair (strawberry blond to red in colour), I chose a yellow & lime green combo and applied (using gloves) in splices. I used a technique similar to foiling but used baking paper to get a crisp clean line. It also helped catch any excess from falling on my clothes/shoulders.
    A great tip to help remove the colour from your hair quicker is washing with dishwashing liquid, but you MUST follow with a deep conditioning treatment (or leave your conditioner in over night in damp hair – just plait it back)
    It’s a great product but nothing I’ll used with frequency. Instead I bought some clip in hair extensions for the same price. Reusable, and easy removal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

